Follow

Deleted Recipes While Syncing

While syncing my cookbooks and recipes, it started deleting them from MasterCook on my computer. How do I fix this?

The sync files on your computer became corrupted and couldn't connect with your original online cookbook and its recipes. So, it created a duplicate online cookbook and is now syncing with it instead. So, you end up with two cookbooks with the same name online, and your recipes split between those two online cookbooks. However, the one on the computer is synced with the newest cookbook (the duplicate it created). You haven't lost your recipes yet. They are still ALL online within two online cookbooks by the same name. It's easy to correct. You don't lose any recipes. However, you must correct it exactly as explained below.

IMPORTANT: Please make sure you are using the most up-to-date MasterCook 15 product. See here: MasterCook 15 Updates

1. Go to the My Account screen in My MasterCook Manager on the computer and log out of your MasterCook.com account to disconnect it from My MasterCook Manager. Do not log back in until the very end of these instructions.

2. Then go to your online cookbooks web page here:

http://www.mastercook.com/app/Cookbook

Are your cookbooks and recipes online? Do you see any duplicate cookbook titles in that online cookbooks page? Duplicate online cookbooks will cause this problem.

3. Click on the Download link next to one of your duplicate cookbooks. MasterCook 15 on the computer will ask to create a new cookbook in MasterCook on the computer. Give it a new name and do that. Do that for the other duplicate cookbook. Once you have both of these cookbooks in MasterCook 15, open the one that has the least amount of recipes. Select the recipe titles listed on the screen and copy the recipes. (Use the Select All and then Copy Recipes commands from the Edit menu.) Then open the other cookbook and paste them in there.

At this point you should have the new cookbook in MasterCook 15 that has your combined recipes.

4. Backup your files in MasterCook 15 as explained here:

http://support.mastercook.com/entries/82783855-MasterCook-15-Backup

5. Then you can delete the older cookbooks that aren't working correctly. Delete them from the Cookbooks web page online. Delete the ones that are in MasterCook 15 on the computer.

6. Then sign back into My MasterCook Manager and sync the new cookbook in version 15 with your combined recipes to your MasterCook.com account. Hopefully this new cookbook will work better.

PREVENTION

Please backup your files on a regular basis. See this:

http://support.mastercook.com/hc/en-us/articles/216889306-MasterCook-15-Backup

I would suggest you always log out of My MasterCook Manager after you are done syncing. Then work on your recipes from the computer. Before you sign back into My MasterCook Manager, go to the Cookbooks screen in MasterCook on the computer and select Refresh File List from the Tools menu.

TIP: Refresh while you are signed out of My MasterCook Manager. This clears out corrupt sync files on the computer. You should NOT be signed into My MasterCook Manager when you refresh.

After you refresh create a backup copy of your files. That's quick and easy. Then sign back into My MasterCook Manager and sync. Do those six things:

1. Sign out of My MasterCook Manager.
2. Edit recipes on the computer.
3. Refresh while you are signed out of My MasterCook Manager.
4. Create a backup of your files.
5. Sign into My MasterCook Manager and sync.
6. Sign out of My MasterCook Manager.

 

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.