Follow

MasterCook 22 Restore from MasterCook

The Restore from MasterCook tab allows you to restore files from a previous version of MasterCook that is installed on the computer. If you have a previous versions of MasterCook installed on the computer, it will list them in this screen.

If you wish to start with a fresh installation of MasterCook 22 and have the benefits of its new tips and ingredients, you should use the Restore from MasterCook tab. This will not overwrite the MasterCook 22 ingredients or tips. If you have added your own ingredients or tips to a previous version of MasterCook, the next step you would take is to use the Merge tab to merge them with those in MasterCook 22.

Warning: If you have more than one version of MasterCook installed on your computer do not restore the same cookbook from multiple versions.

You can click on the + and - boxes along the left of the screen to expand and collapse sections.

Follow the steps below to restore your files from a previous version of MasterCook that is installed on your computer:

    1. Add checkmarks to the boxes of items you wish to restore.
    2. Press the Restore button.
    3. You will receive a warning letting you know that you will be replacing the data files. For example, when you first install MasterCook, it comes with an empty My Cookbook. When you use this restore tool, if you have a My Cookbook in a previous version of MasterCook with your own recipes, it will replace the empty one that was installed with yours from the previous version that contains your recipes.
    4. Select Yes if you wish to continue.
    5. Select No if you wish to cancel.
    6. When you select Yes and files will be overwritten, you will see a dialog box that lists each file that will be replaced. It allows you to select to overwrite or keep what the program is currently using.
    7. Notice that the progress bar displays as the files are copied into MasterCook's folders.
    8. When the restore tool completes, you will see a Restore complete message.
    9. It reminds you that if you have ingredients or tips that need to be transferred into MasterCook, you need to use the Merge tool to transfer those into the program.
    10. Press the OK button.
    11. You can close the Restore program by pressing the Exit button or by using the X in the upper right corner of its window.

 

After you are done restoring and you close the Restore program, you can launch the main MasterCook program and see the content that was added to the program.

 

mceclip0.png

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.