Follow

MasterCook 24 Restore from Backup

The Restore from Backup tab allows you to restore files from a backup location, even from previous versions. This allows you to recover not only your cookbooks and recipes but also your preference settings and replace any customizations you made to files like the print templates, ingredients, etc.

Caution: If you use the Restore from Backup option with a backup set of files from a previous version, their files will overwrite what MasterCook 24 installs. That is fine with most files. However, you should not do that with ingredients or tips. Therefore, expand the Other Files section in the Restore from Backup screen and make sure you remove the checkmarks from the MC Tips files and the MC Ingredients files. To merge your ingredients or tips from a previous version into MasterCook 24, right click on your MC Ingredients.ing file in the backup location. Then select Merge Ingredients from the menu that pops up. You can also merge the tips the same way by right clicking on your MC Tips.mtf file in the backup location and selecting Merge Tips from the menu that pops up.

Follow the steps below to restore your files from backup:

    1. Press the Browse button.
    2. In the Browse For Folder window that appears, select the folder that contains your MasterCook files that were previously backed up.
    3. Press the OK button.
    4. The Restore from Backup screen populates with the contents of your backup folder.
    5. Add/Remove checkmarks to select what items you wish to restore to MasterCook.
    6. Press the Restore button.
      • You will receive a warning letting you know that you will be replacing the data files. For example, when you first install MasterCook, it comes with an empty My Cookbook. When you use this restore tool, if you have a My Cookbook in a previous version of MasterCook with your own recipes, it will replace the empty one that was installed with yours from the previous version that contains your recipes.
      • Select Yes if you wish to continue.
      • Select No if you wish to cancel.
    7. When you select Yes and files will be overwritten, you will see a dialog box that lists each file that will be replaced. It allows you to select to overwrite or keep the file the program is currently using.
    8. Notice that the progress bar displays as the files are copied into MasterCook's folders.
    9. When the restore tool completes, you will see a Restore complete message.
    10. Press the OK button.
    11. You can close the Restore program by pressing the Exit button or by using the X in the upper right corner of its window.

 

After you are done restoring and you close the Restore program, you can launch the main MasterCook program and confirm the content was added to the program.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.